The most beautiful painting I have ever made

 
People, sometimes, ask me strange things about my work. First of all because painting is such a core part of me, asking questions about it, at times, sounds almost as absurd as “how many ears do you have” or “”why do you breath”. Of course people cannot know what role painting plays in my life, but one thing I can assure you: my paintings ARE me. That’s why I could never answer this specific question: “which one of your paintings is your favorite? It was like asking a mother which child was her most loved one or which one of my legs walked better. I simply didn’t have an answer… Until now.

Life gives us some rough rides and journeys sometimes and suddenly there’s no doubt about how or why a piece of coal becomes a diamond. Out of sudden, lots of the dreams you carefully carried around falls down like delicate china from a cupboard… It shatters into a million pieces of sense and significance, of bitter and sweet taste, horror or delight – or both.

When I painted this painting, in Germany, it was not clear at all. It just had no meaning. Its elements danced before my eyes like pieces of a secret puzzle and I had no idea why or how they had made it to the canvas. Each single drawing was there saying something that i could not see, understand, translate or put into context. Even the name, funny long one for such a tiny painting, was intriguing: “Departure or When you start looking like the furniture it’s time to leave” – yes, crazy title, yet very alegoric.

Now, after several months. It all came to me. Everything is particularly arranged and speaks a language that my heart hears loud and clearly. It all makes sense and tells the truth – the cold and raw truth in warm and nurturing colors. I never knew I could be so sincere to myself, or that life could be so cruel and yet loving. Listen, it speaks. Look carefully, it sings. Observe gracefully and it screams. It’s all there.

It makes me cry and allows me to laugh. It slaps my face, but also sets me free. It’s not easy being a woman, life is not as generous and kind as we hoped for. But now I finally have the answer: This is the most beautiful painting I have ever made.

****************

As pessoas, às vezes, me perguntam coisas estranhas sobre o meu trabalho. Primeiro, porque a pintura é uma parte tão central de mim, que fazer perguntas sobre isso, às vezes, soa quase tão absurdo como “quantos ouvidos você tem” ou “por que você respira.” Claro que as pessoas não podem saber que papel a pintur desempenha na minha vida, mas uma coisa posso assegurar: minhas pinturas SÃO eu. É por isso que eu nunca pude responder à esta pergunta específica: “Qual das suas pinturas é a sua preferida”. Era como perguntar para uma mãe qual de seus filhos é o mais amado ou qual de minhas pernas andava melhor. Eu simplesmente não sabia responder … até agora

A vida às vezes nos dá alguns percursos e viagens difíceis e de repente não há dúvida de como ou por que um pedaço de carvão se transforma em diamante. Do nada, muitos dos sonhos que você carregava cuidadosamente caem no chão, como delicada porcelana que cai do armário … Se estilhaçam em milhares de pedaços de sentido e significado, de doce e amargo sabor, horror ou prazer – ou quiçá, ambos.

Quando eu pintei este quadro, na Alemanha, não estava. Ele não tinha significado. Seus elementos dançavam diante dos meus olhos como peças de um quebra-cabeça segreto e eu não tinha idéia do porque ou como eles tinham chegado até a tela. Cada detalhe estava lá, dizendo algo que eu não conseguia ver, compreender, traduzir ou colocar em contexto. Até mesmo o nome, longo e engraçado para uma pintura tão pequena, era intrigante: “Partida ou Quando você começar a se parecer com a mobília, é hora de partir” – sim, título louco, mas muito alegórico.

Agora, depois de vários meses. Tudo veio para mim. Tudo está meticulosamente organizado e fala uma língua que meu coração ouve em voz alta e clara. Tudo faz sentido e diz a verdade – a verdade fria e crua em cores quentes e acolhedoras. Eu nunca soube que eu poderia ser tão sincera comigo mesmo, ou que a vida poderia ser tão cruel e ainda assim, amorosa. Ouça, ela fala. Olhe com cuidado, ele canta. Observe graciosamente e ela grita. Está tudo lá.

Me faz chorar e me permite rir. Ele dá um tapa no rosto, mas também me liberta. Não é fácil ser mulher, a vida também não é tão generosa e acolhedora como esperávamos. Mas agora eu finalmente tenho a resposta: Este é o quadro mais bonito que eu já pintei.
Luciana Mariano, 2015.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

