André e Heitor

20120804-085926.jpg

When we are feeling pretty lost, we tend to search for roots, for references that may bring us back to safety and meaning. I have a gigantic family both on my dad’s and mom’s side. But I was raised not very close to neither, I always felt kind of separeted and not belonging to anything. This feeling made me grasp for a family of my own and when I was 21 I was already married and pregnant. 20 years later, my son is a grown up and the sense of empty nest syndrome sets in once again.
Through Facebook I got in touch with relatives that were long lost and missed. Some of them ( like the cousin in the painting) i have never met and yet, makes me long for something that runs deeper than the vains and surnames ties. André is a kind hearted person, who cares for his kid, helps the poor, works with at risk youth and yet takes his time to say hi and “like” stuff on the internet. Cool kid with a super cool little kid. So I painted him playing with Heitor. Because life passes too quickly when we play with our kids and some day, he will have this moment captured on canvas to rewind time.

……

Quando a gente se sente bem perdida, a gente começa a procurar por raízes, referencias que nos tragam seguramça e significado. Eu tenho familias gigantes do lado do meu pai e da minha mãe. Mas eu não fui criada muito próxima de nenhum dos lados, e eu sempre me senti meio separada e não pertencendo a coisa nenhuma. Esse sentimento talvez tenha sido a origem de eu, aos 21, ja estar casada e gravida. 20 anos depois, meu filho ja é adulto e a sensação de ninho vazio volta a aparecer. Pelo Facebook eu achei muitos parentes que ha muito havia me desencontrado e que faziam falta. Alguns deles (como o primo da pintura) eu ainda em conheço, mas me fazem falta por motivos ainda mais profundos do que os que correm nas veias ou nos laços de sobrenome. André é uma pessoa de coração enorme, que cuida do filhinho dele, ajuda pessoas que precisam, trabalha com dependentes químicos, corre e ainda assim tem tempo de dizer um oi e “curtir” coisas que ve na internet. Um cara legal com um filhotinho super legal. Então eu pintei ele brincando com o Heitor. Porque a vida passa rapido demais, especialmente quando brincamos com nossos filhos. Ai um dia, ele vai ter esse momento capturado na tela pra poder voltar no tempo! Beijos primos!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

